Autumn Arrives At Trader Joe’s: Gluten-Free Pumpkin-Flavored Fare

A couple of weeks ago, when we were up in the mountains of Kentucky and Tennessee, I had a twinge of guilt for kentucky treethinking for a second – if only a split second – that living in a geographical area with actual changes of seasons and their accompanying colors and flavors might be nice. We were mostly in rural areas, and we passed little houses and little stores that were decked out with pumpkins, jack-o-lanterns, scarecrows, and all the trimmings associated with autumn and Halloween. What’s more, these dwellings and businesses were surrounded with actual trees, the leaves of which were festively and appropriately colored for the season: golds, reds, and bronzes splashed across the land.

For a nano-second I wondered whether I might not appreciate living somewhere other than South Texas, where we have but two seasons: hot and hotter. A Texas girl at heart I am, though, and a Texas girl I’ll always be, so I immediately chided myself for such heretical thoughts and counted all the blessings Texas offers, other than chilly, picture-postcard colored autumn days.

trader joe gluten-free pumpkinEven though the weather may not indicate as much in our proverbial neck of the woods, the calendar tells us that we are well into autumn. The appropriately flavored seasonal foods are showing up in the grocery stores, Trader Joe’s is encouraging festive dining by offering just about everything pumpkin (even pumpkin body butter, of which the store I shopped this morning was sadly sold out!). I did come away with three gluten-free pumpkin flavored items: gluten-free pumpkin soup, gluten-free pumpkin pancake mix, and pumpkin macarons (macarons are, of course, traditionally gluten-free)! I have yet to try the pumpkin soup and gluten-free pumpkin pancake mix, but I ate a couple macarons on the way home from the store (well, the drive home was taking quite a long time and I got hungry . . . . ). The macarons are to die for! The cookie part is tender and the filling is flavorful without being too sweet. I can’t wait to go back for more! After tomorrow morning’s run: gluten-free pumpkin pancakes! Can’t wait! If the pancakes taste delicious, I’ll update this post with the news.

Leave a Reply

